Married the 2nd time meeting! The truth behind our marriage!!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

 

So a question I get a lot that even some family members don’t understand is how Jake and I met and why did we get married so young? The big question. I want to start off our story right away and tell you guys me and Jake got Married the 2nd time we met face to face. Your probably thinking to yourself “what? That’s crazy!!! The 2nd time meeting face to face?” Yes!!Β But guys, when you know, you know! Our story was a little different then most. Im going to be completely honest and explain my side of the story, and how things unraveled from my point of view. I want to explain that love isn’t a certain process and no one can tell you what the right way is. It doesn’t matter if you have known eachother for 10 years or if you have known eachother a couple weeks! When you know , you just know!

The first time I ever talked to JakeΒ I was 18 years old and he was about 21 years old. Yes we met over social media, (Instagram) typical. lol. we skyped a few times and text non stop. But to be honest Jake was hung up on some other girl so we kind of went our own way and dated other people. I’m not going to lie to you guys but I was super upset with him. I feel like us girl just know when you belong with someone or when their is just a lot of chemistry there. Him and that girl broke up a few months after that. (Because he was meant to be with me, duh!!!πŸ˜‰lol) We always stayed in touch and always checked in on one another as friends would do.

Jake then enlisted into the military and was on his way to boot camp when he asked me for my mailing address so he can write me letters.Β I got his first letter and I had butterflies in my stomach. Β I was smitten. I couldn’t wait to write him back. I seriously even sprayed my perfume on my letter so it could smell like me. Β (haha how cheesy). I sent my letter and waited for him to write back. At the time I was starting a new job and had a lot on my table so by the time I got his 2nd letter I never did end up writing back. And plus at the time I didn’t think I was the only girl he was writing so I didn’t think it was a big deal. Jake got out of boot camp and told me how much it meant to him that I wrote him back and that my letter smelled really good. lol. (mission accomplished)

lets fast forward a little bit, and get to the good stuff. I was 20 years old when me and Jake started texting again. After everything we have been through I honestly didn’t want anything more then just a friendship. As I was talking to him I realized he was going through a lot and he actually got in trouble with the military and lost his dream job. I’m not going to go in specifics because thats not my story to tell. But when you get in trouble with the military they put you through hell.Β SoΒ as a compassionate person I just had to be there for him through this hard time. NoΒ one knew how depressed he was but me. He opened up to me about a lot. We text hourly for weeks straight.Β So as a human being I grew strong feelings for him.

img_6618

At this time we have yet to meet face to face. Yet I knew him better then any previous boyfriend or really any other person for that matter. We got to know eachother for who we were mentally. Fall for eachothers personality. People have said to us “how can you love someone you have never met?” Well we talked and got to know eachother for 8 months without any sexual contact, without seeing each other face to face. Everything was based on getting to know one another. I fell in love with who he was as a person the person he was on the inside and not many people can say that.

 

Processed with VSCO with 1 preset
Processed with VSCO with 1 preset

Jake came back to Colorado December 22nd 2014, and that was the day we met face to face. Something that most of our family doesntΒ know but I said I was going to tell myΒ honest story. And the honest truth is I met JakesΒ twin brother and his mom before I ever met Jake face to face. Its crazy to think about it. I went with Jakes family to the airport to pick him up. Jake started crying when he saw all of us. The moment I saw him was the moment I knew I wanted to spend my life with him. People probably think “that’s absolutely crazy!” And you might be right. But I honestly just don’t care what people think. No one could tell me how to feel and who to love.

Jake went back to Florida and I was devastated. I was planning a trip that February to go out so I could see him again. When Jake told me “Lets just get married! It’s going to happen sooner or later.” Β Which was true. So we decided when I flew out there we would tie the knot so I could move to Florida and be with him. For us to be together since Jake is in the military being married was the only option. I was nothing to the military if I wasn’t considered his wife. I couldn’t go on base without having someone being with me. And if Jake got stationed somewhere else they wouldn’t pay for me to go with him. So thats what we decided to do. If people agreed with it or not.

As a little girl I always pictured that perfect proposal and that perfect wedding. I used to be that girl that said I would never just go to the court house and get married. I frowned upon it. That was just ignorance on my part. When I found the man I Β wanted to spend my life with all those “important things” went out the window. Do I wish I still had a wedding? Absolutely! But I truly just wanted to be able to wake up to him every day and spend my time with him. So if that meant getting proposed to over the phone and getting married at a court house, then so be it. (Jake ended up proposing again at the airport when I flew in to Orlando so he could do it in person.)

Me and my family and Jakes family flew to Orlando, Florida Β February 26th 2015. Me and Jakes “2nd” time meeting face to face. We went to the courthouse Feb 27th bright early in the morning and got married. We celebrated afterward by going to Universal studios for our own little luxurious honey moon. πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‚ lol.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

After spending 2 weeks in Florida with Jake I flew back to Denver,Colorado and sold everything I owned so I could afford to move to Jacksonville to be with him. I sold my car, my tv, literally everything but my clothes. When It was all said and done and I had enough money to move out to Florida to our own little apartment. Me and Jake were broke. Shoot we were sleeping on the floor of our apartment for awhile till we could afford a bed. No one knows how much we were struggling the first couple months of our marriage with hardly any support from family and friends. (I don’t blame them for not supporting us, I could see why they felt the way they did and how crazy it looked through their eyes) but me and Jake did what we had to do. We truly believed in eachother and loved each other that much. And it was %100 worth it. Look where we are now!!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

This isn’t your typical love story, but this is our love story. We got married the 2nd time we ever met face to face and I know we are going to be together forever. Don’t let anyone tell you how your relationship is supposed to go or how things are meant to be. Don’t live the way that society tells you to live. If I did, I wouldn’t have my daughter or a husband that would do anything for me. Jake tells me every day how I saved his life and gave him the best gift any one could ever give him, our daughter!! And I got such a great man. We are truly blessed. We have been together for over 3 years now, married for almost 2 and are going strong.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
6 thoughts on “Married the 2nd time meeting! The truth behind our marriage!!

  1. I absolutely loved this – thank you for sharing! I relate to so many of those new MilSO struggles, but man are we blessed with our men. So happy for you Megan πŸ’“

    Like

  2. “Well duh” he was meant for you πŸ˜‚ (sorry had me laughing). I kind of went through the same lol but duh he was meant for me πŸ˜‚ Aw! Your right! Not the typical love story but a beautiful one and heck you both made a beautiful baby! πŸ˜‚

    Like

  3. This is just amazing. I love your story and commend you for doing what was meant for you! It takes a lot of courage to do what you two did and it’s awesome. I love it!

    Like

  4. “This isn’t your typical love story, but this is our love story.” Loved it, I’m glad you didn’t let anything stop you from doing what you believed was right for you and happy to see it all worked out. You have a beautiful family, thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

